Flash Fiction – Weekly Roundup

Here are my flash fiction stories of the week.  I wish I had more time to participate regularly, but this will have to do for now.

This week I participated in: #TuesdayTales, #55WordChallenge and #FridayPictureShow

Tuesday Tales

Prompt: Confluence

“Did you know that Pittsburg is one of the few cities in the world that are tri-fluvial?”

Turning, I looked at my date quizzically. I had no clue what he was talking about.

“You know… the confluence of rivers? Technically I guess since the Allegheny and Monongahela rivers form the Ohio, perhaps it’s only bi-fluvial?” he pondered.

I stared blankly at the extremely handsome man across from me, baffled as to why he thought I might need this bit of trivia. Discouraged, I turned my focus back towards the sunset, trying to hide my disappointment in tonight’s choice of hook-ups.

 

55 Word Challenge

Prompt:

He’d been guarding the entrance to the crypt for nearly a thousand years. Those who didn’t heed his warning perished an unfathomable death filled with pain and emotional anguish. The curse outside was written in the blood of the chosen one, the person who was destined to return this year.

And he was waiting.

Friday Picture Show

Prompt:

He waited, watching as she picked only the ripest of blueberries to take home.

Her meticulous inspection of every berry was almost comical had he only been a casual observer. Something he wouldn’t classify himself as. After following her for a week, he’d been trying to get close enough to strike, yet she was hardly ever alone. Her mother would hover only a few yards away, ears constantly perked in case trouble arose.

Today he’d found his chance, when her mother had walked away.

Stalking forward, he tapped her shoulder.

She spun, eyes wide before letting out a blood-curdling scream.

Love to hear from you

